FIFPro World XI shortlist Ronaldo Messi Neymar Suarez Rooney

FIFPro World XI shortlist Ronaldo Messi Neymar Suarez Rooney

Real Madrid dominate the FIFPro World XI shortlist with Cristiano Ronaldo facing a battle against Barcelona trio Lionel Messi, Neymar and Luis Suarez as well as Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney for a place in attack.

FIFPro, the worldwide players’ union, has announced a 55-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI, with nearly 25,000 players from around the world voting in this year’s ballot for their preferred players in a 4-3-3 formation.

FIFPro represents more than 65,000 male and female footballers across the globe. The organisation asks players to vote for the best goalkeeper, four best defenders, three best midfielders and three best attackers from all players worldwide.

There is only a distinction between the lines of formation, not the positions themselves, and there is no pre-approved shortlist of players to vote from.

However, players chosen must have made at least 15 official appearances during the calendar year to be eligible for the World XI.

All ballots that have been returned will be counted in December, with FIFPro staff then building the new World XI.

Full FIFPro World XI shortlist:

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/Bayern), Jordi Alba (Spain/Barca), Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juve), Dani Alves (Brazil/Barca), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern), Marcelo (Brazil/Real), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barca), Pepe (Portugal/Real), Gerard Piqué (Spain/Barca), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/PSG) and Raphael Varane (France/Real).

Midfielders (15): Thiago Alcantara (Spain/Bayern), Xabi Alonso (Spain/Bayern), Sergio Busquets (Spain/Barca), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barca), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC), Paul Pogba (France/Juve), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/Barca), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real), David Silva (Spain/Man City), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast/Man City), Marco Verratti (Italy/PSG) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern).

Strikers (15): Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Man City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real), Karim Benzema (France/Real), Douglas Costa (Brazil/Bayern), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/PSG), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barca), Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern), Neymar (Brazil/Barca), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barca) and Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).

Related Post

Neymar suffers hamstring injury
views 55
Barcelona's famed MSN trio will have to make do without one of its key components for the foreseeable future, as star forward Neymar is dealing with a...
WATCH HIGHLIGHTS: England 2-0 Malta
views 130
Gareth Southgate started his reign as England's interim manager with a comfortable win against minnows Malta at Wembley. Southgate - in charge for fou...
WATCH HIGHLIGHTS: Ajax are through to the Europa League final
views 25
Ajax will face Manchester United in the final of the Europa League after narrowly overcoming Lyon with a 5-4 aggregate victory.
Rosberg Wins Inaugural Baku GP
views 166
Nico Rosberg was untouchable in Sunday’s European Grand Prix as he won the first race at the new Baku circuit ahead of Sebastian Vettel. Starting from...
Lionel Messi named top forward in 2015, Cristiano Ronaldo 29th
views 202
Lionel Messi is the best forward in 2015 – while Cristiano Ronaldo is only 29th on a list of top attackers. These are the findings of a study conducte...