2016 Formula 1 driver salaries

2016 Formula 1 driver salaries

In the wake of Lewis Hamilton grabbing headlines for being the richest sports person in Britain – for his fortune which is estimated to be around $150 million – we reveal the top earners in Formula 1.

On paper quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel is the highest paid Formula 1 driver in 2016 with a record three year deal with Ferrari worth $150 million, excluding bonuses, which also makes him one of the highest paid sportsman in the world.

Next up is Fernando Alonso who signed record three year deal (2015-2017) with McLaren-Honda and has an annual salary of $40 million a year.

Hamilton has a three year deal with Mercedes worth $31 million a-year guaranteed salary, plus up to $10 million per annum in bonuses making him the third highest paid driver in the sport.

Jenson Button signed a one year extension with McLaren-Honda to remain with the team in 2016. The 2009 world champion is banking around $12 million a year, which is a pay cut compared to 2013 when he was earning $17 million a year.

Runaway championship leader Nico Rosberg, banks $15.5 million per year, which is almost a third less than his Mercedes teammate Hamilton.

Top 5 drivers:


Related Post

WATCH HIGHLIGHTS: Tottenham 2-0 Manchester City
views 160
Pep Guardiola suffered his first defeat as Manchester City manager on Sunday as Tottenham Hotspur ran rampant at White Hart Lane en route to a thoroug...
Pele urges Messi not to retire from International football
views 127
Brazil legend Pele has become the latest high-profile name to call for Lionel Messi to retract his decision to retire from international football. M...
WATCH HIGHLIGHTS: Real Madrid 3-1 Napoli
views 38
Real Madrid came from a goal down to beat Napoli in the first leg of their Champions League last-16 tie.
China’s Wang buys 20% of Atletico Madrid for $52m
views 73
Chinese billionaire Wang Jianlin bought a 20 percent stake in Spanish league champions Atletico Madrid on Wednesday, his company announced, the first ...
India thrash Ireland to register record 9th successive World Cup victory
views 63
HAMILTON: Shikhar Dhawan cracked a scintillating century as a rampaging India on Tuesday created a record winning their ninth consecutive ICC Cricket ...